workpasob.blogg.se

Leona lewis bleeding love live
Leona lewis bleeding love live










leona lewis bleeding love live

Maybe the last series of The X Factor wasn't a complete waste of everyone's time after all? That really would be a turn-up for the books. When you contextualise it ( "you cut me open and I keep bleeding love") it sounds a bit better, although now I just want to say it in a comedy east London accent ( "I keep bleedin', love", like "I keep bleeeedin', darlin'")Īnd while I argued earlier that Leona's quite good at making a song her own, she doesn't yet have a distinctive enough style: if I heard this on the radio without knowing who it was, I would've assumed Christina or possibly Mariah, and while that's a complimentary comparison, I think she does need to eke out slightly more of a unique sound for herself to avoid getting buried amongst the more experienced divas.īut on the whole, I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised by this. It's not without its faults, mind: 'Bleeding Love' is not a good title for a song because my mind immediately went to menstruation, and I think yours might have done so too. It's mature, it's sophisticated, it's understated, it's vocally impressive and while it's perhaps a little bit too Radio 2, it's the only single to come from The X Factor I could imagine succeeding even without the hype of the show around it. In fact, why not go and have a listen to the embarrassingly bad new Shayne Ward single, and then listen to this, and just try telling me that this isn't in a different league entirely.

leona lewis bleeding love live leona lewis bleeding love live

It's not the sort of thing that usually tickles my ears, but I'm grading on a curve here and it's infinitely better than the sort of drivel that The X Factor usually inflicts on us. We've been hearing about how Leona's been off to the US and working with all sorts of people, but it was a very long time before we heard any results, and there were points where I wondered if we were supposed to have forgotten she existed, but no, here she is with her first proper single. Since then I've found myself wondering what precisely happens when The X Factor, through luck more than deliberation I imagine, actually finds itself with a talented winner. Then of course there was that rather brilliant moment when Gary Barlow rather brilliantly owned Simon on the X Factor finale last year by basically accusing him of lumbering the winner of these shows with a bunch of third-rate castoffs for their albums and warning him that if he did that to Leona, he'd be sending the boys round (presumably not Take That, although that would've been brilliant). Anybody know where we can find any songs that weren't originally turned down by Westlife."Įxec 3: "Shall I call Simon? He might know somebody."

leona lewis bleeding love live

They might throw stones at us."Įxec 1: "Can't we fix it for that annoying swing kid to win?"Įxec 2: "Wouldn't that look like a bit of an obvious sabotage, though?"Įxec 1: "Gah, we're screwed. She might never be in the bottom two at this rate."Įxec 2: "Anyone got a video of this girl?Įxec 1: "What the hell are we supposed to do with HER?"Įxec 2: "If we trot out another Westlife covers album and record her vocals in a toolshed the weekend before Christmas like we usually do, people are going to be cross. She's actually doing really well in the votes. She can actually sing like Christina or Whitney while still being connecting with the emotional heart of a song in a way that makes it more than just a two-bit karaoke version, and people seem to like her."Įxec 1: "Yes, but she won't win, will she? We always get rid of the good ones in week four by pitting them against a one-armed puppy-juggler singing 'How Much Is That Doggy In The Window?' in the showdown, and they always lose."Įxec 3: "But that's just it. Exec 3: "Um, guys? I don't want to worry anyone, but there's this girl called Leona and she's actually quite good.












Leona lewis bleeding love live